Jury Duty….Really?

It was a month until the wedding and I had jury duty.  Really?  The universe just had to throw that at me right then?

Treun and I still couldn’t get the guest list under control.  I was so stressed that I was ready to just run away.  We’d seriously started talking about scrapping the whole thing and going to the Justice of the Peace.  Melanie was still demanding to bring three people.  Liam was acting up more and more. And Bubba was at it again.

I had emailed him about our next big visitation and he just didn’t answer me.  I had no idea at this point whether or not he was taking his parenting time or if he was going to blow it off.  This happens every time we have a big visitation.  I’ll email him 6-8 weeks ahead of time to hammer down exact dates because I needed to get vacation if the dates fell on week days.  Besides that, the kids need to know when they are going to get that big block of time with Bubba.  Bubba must not like that I’m trying to get an answer so he’ll just ignore me.

I was at the end of my rope and I told Treun that I wanted to call the whole thing off.  He told me that he’d gladly go to the JoP if that would give me less stress.  The only thing he cares about is making me happy.

My jury summons instructed me to call a number Sunday evening after 5:00 p.m. to see if I had to report Monday morning.  I called Sunday evening and my number was not in the pool that was instructed to report Monday but I was instructed to call Monday at 5:00 p.m. to see if I had to report on Tuesday.

As it turned out, I had to report Tuesday morning, but not until 9:30 am.  Treun and I decided that he would go into work late so that we could be there at 8:00 to get certified copies of our divorce decrees then get our marriage license.  While we were waiting for our certified divorce decrees, we decided to move the wedding date… to two weeks sooner than we’d originally planned.  We also decided to only invite our children and his best friend and his fiance and Arcadia and her family.

My stress just disappeared.  Until I realized that all the personalized things we’d bought weren’t right anymore, Endellion wouldn’t be able to come to the wedding, I had to make sure the caterer and baker had that date available.  I had some work to do but in the end it was better to keep it to only a few people.

Jury duty ended up being a really relaxing time for me.  I’d taken a book  along and read for about 90 minutes when the clerk came in and told us that we were dismissed.  Both people who were on the docket that day had accepted pleas so they didn’t need jurors.

I headed back to work.  It had been a productive day.  Treun and I had gotten our marriage licence and I’d relaxed with a book.

It had been a good day.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. The Guest List Diminishes By Two | Hope Wears Heels

    Leave a Reply

