Simple is the Name of the Game

We’ve decided to get married in two months.  It’s going to be an extremely short engagement so we need to get moving on all the planning.  Once we picked our date things started happening quickly.

Treun is so easy to work with.  I found a website where I can custom make our invitations.  We’ve decided to get married at his our house and to only invite 50 people.  Ever the frugal person, I’m finding ways to save money and still have a small, intimate wedding that we’ll be happy with.  The website I found offers all types of personalized items for reasonable prices.

We’d thought about renting a place by the lake to have the wedding and reception but the more I thought about it the more I wanted to keep it simple and do it at home.  Why spend all that extra money when we could just have it at home where we’re comfortable?

We decided to go with Mexican food and found a restaurant that would deliver and set up the buffet.  We didn’t need anything fancy and having a fajita bar  and fruit was just what we wanted.

I finally got to show Treun my secret board on Pinterest.  When he first gave me the engagement ring, I was floored that it was exactly what I wanted.  I asked him if he’d talked to Arcadia about it.  He said no.  I asked if he’d talked to Endellion about it.  Again, he said no.  I asked him how he knew what ring to get for me.  He told me he saw it and it just looked like me.  I told him it was exactly what I wanted and when he looked skeptical, I pulled up the secret board and showed him the collection of rings I’d pinned that had been almost exactly what he bought for me with only slight variations.

I showed him the rest of the things I’d pinned and one had been wedding bands.  I wanted tri-color.  Treun didn’t like the few I’d pinned and had really never seen tri-color rings before.  I told him it meant so much to me to have tri-color because I see the three colors as representing what we were doing.  It would represent my family, his family, and the family we were creating together, all woven together.  He fell in love with the idea so I just had to find rings that we both liked.  That took me a few days.

I finally found a website that had our perfect rings.  They were a bit pricier than I would’ve liked but they were custom made for us.  I emailed the site to ask if they could do what we wanted and if so, how much would it cost and how long would it take.  I heard back from them the next day that it would take 6 weeks and how much it would cost.  After I got over the sticker shock, I told Treun about it.  We’d be cutting it close on the timeline and the cost didn’t even phase him.  He said that was actually a good price and that we should go for it.  We’d gotten our fingers sized a few days before, so I immediately placed the order and told the man I’d been emailing our wedding date.  He said he’d do everything he could to get the rings to me before our wedding.

Months ago, I found the perfect dress and pinned it.  I went to order it and, much to my dismay, found that it was out of stock with no expected in-stock date.  I called the company.  They weren’t able to help.  I had to find a new dress.  I was heart-broken.  Arcadia and I took a day to go shopping at all the bridal shops and department stores.  I didn’t find anything I liked. I started looking on Amazon.  I found a couple of dresses that were similar so I bought them.  I figured I’d try them on and return the one I didn’t like.

Once I picked one, I took it to the store so that I could get a bra to wear with it since I didn’t own any strapless bras and the dress had spaghetti straps.  My bra lady found me a bra and when I put it on with the dress, I told her that was as good as it was going to get because I wasn’t enthused about the dress.  She looked at me and thought for a moment.  Then she exclaimed, “I have an idea!  Don’t move!  I’ll be back in  five minutes!”  She took off before I could say anything.

Five minutes later she was back with two dresses.  I looked at both of them and told her that I didn’t like either of them.  She told me to trust her and just try them on.  The first one fit like a dream but I really didn’t like the style.  I wasn’t hopeful trying on the second one because of the way it was made but I like my bra lady so I decided to humor her.  I put it on and nearly cried.  It was my dress!  It fit like a glove and it was perfect for my wedding.  The best part about it is the bra she brought back to wear with the dress was on sale for 99¢!  It was $50 bra and I just happened to be there when they were getting rid of the last of the last of last year’s styles.

I found my bouquet on Etsy.  I don’t like cut flowers so I was looking for something different to do for a bouquet and for Treun’s boutonneire.  I looked at paper flowers and foam flowers.  Nothing was really striking me.  I decided to once again turn to Pinterest.  There I found examples of button bouquets!  Eureka!  That was what I wanted.  I turned to Etsy and started sifting through all the button bouquets.  I wanted white since I’d be wearing a darkly colored dress.  After going through pages and pages of bouquets, I found one!  It even had a matching boutonneire!  I emailed the crafter and asked how long it would take to have it shipped to me since she was in another country and how much it would be.  Once she answered, I ordered it.  I didn’t tell Treun about it.  I wanted to surprise him.

We were moving along quite nicely.  All we really had left to do was wait until all the packages arrived and work on our guest list.  I didn’t know the amount of drama I was about to enter.

It almost ruined the wedding.

3 Comments

    Trackbacks

    1. The Guest List | Hope Wears Heels
    2. Jury Duty….Really? | Hope Wears Heels
    3. The Guest List Diminishes By Two | Hope Wears Heels

    Leave a Reply

