Dinner Plans and a Surprise

Treun asked us out to dinner.  It was a particularly busy week at work and by Thursday, I didn’t want to go home and cook.  We’d been texting during the day and he asked me if the kids and I just wanted to go out to eat.  I really didn’t think anything of it since we’d been having dinner together a couple of times a week.  Usually, I’d have something in the crock pot that I would run home and get along with the kids before heading to his house to eat.  I hadn’t thrown anything in the crock pot that morning and was trying to figure out what to make that night.  I always planned meals ahead so that I could grocery shop just once a week and by Thursday, I was down to my last two choices of the week.  Neither thing I’d planned for that night sounded appealing, so his solution to take us out sounded like a good one.

After work, I ran home and got the kids.  We went over to Treun’s house and the kids decided to wait in the car while I ran in and told Treun we were there.  Shane decided half-way to Treun’s house that he was thirsty so he came in with me.  I walked in and hollered for Treun while Shane ran to the kitchen to get some water.  Treun walked out of his bedroom, gave me a kiss, then took my hand to lead me to the bedroom.

“What on earth are you doing?  The kids are in the car and Shane is in the kitchen.  We can’t go into the bedroom!!!!!”  I was beside myself thinking he was going to try something.  This was totally out of character for Treun.  He stopped in front of his dresser, opened a drawer, and pulled out a box.  He opened the box to reveal a beautiful ring.  It wasn’t a diamond so I was wondering what he was doing.  He took the ring out of the box, took my left hand, put it one my ring finger, hugged me, and started talking on and on about our wedding and our future.  Then he kissed me.

I looked him in the eye and said, “Uh, honey?  Are you ever going to actually ask me?”  He looked at me non-plussed for a moment.  Then he grinned and said, “Will you marry me?”  I laughed and said I would.  Ever practical Treun had just skimmed over the asking and started planning.  Oh, how I love that man!

I told him that I wasn’t going to say anything to the kids until they noticed the ring.  The only jewelry I wear consists of my small hoop earrings and a necklace.  I haven’t worn a ring since I made the decision to divorce Bubba.

We got to our table at the restaurant and sat around talking.  I couldn’t believe the kids hadn’t noticed my ring and after about 15 minutes couldn’t take it anymore and held my hand up and asked them if they noticed anything different.  Serenity announced that she noticed it as soon as I got in the car.  She was just waiting for me to say something.  Serenity and Shane are excited.  Liam just isn’t as excited as the other two.  He did give us his blessing and that meant so much to me.  He still continues to try to avoid us as much as possible and just wants to do his own thing.  I’m not pushing him because I think he’ll come around eventually.

Now to set the date and make all the plans.

 

And it wasn’t until the next day that I realized that Treun asked me to marry him on the 2nd anniversary of my divorce from Bubba.  That date was a happy date before but it is truly remarkable now.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Simple is the Name of the Game | Hope Wears Heels

    Leave a Reply

