A Business Trip…Again

Okay, these business trips are starting to get on my nerves.   Seriously.

I’d been making plans with Treun’s daughter-in-law to throw him a surprise party.  Well, he’ll be gone that day so the party is off.  I’m rather bummed about it but I realize that he doesn’t have any control over these things.  When his boss wants to see him, he goes.

Treun is leaving bright and early Sunday morning for his trip.  I asked him if I could have a playdate at his house later that day.  He pulled me into his arms and said, “Hope, you are welcome to be here and have guests any time you want.  That is why I gave you a key.”

Then we took the kids around the house and outlined all the changes we are going to make when we get married and move in.  Treun and I have discussed a ton of changes we want to make.  We’re preparing for me and the kids to move in, yet we’ve not actually discussed the wedding.  That is a rather nebulous idea at the moment.  We are going to move in.  We just don’t know when.

I think the major complicating factor now holding us back is Bubba.  I’m trying to figure out how to do this without Bubba getting angry and taking it out on the kids.  Our parenting plan states that we need to give the other one 30 days’ notice for a move.  If we get married before the kids leave for the summer, Bubba will have a month to get a good lather going before the boys get there.  If we get married when the kids come home, then I have to notify Bubba while the boys are there.  If we could decide what has the least risk to the kids, we’d know how to proceed.  We’ll figure it out.

While we were showing the kids all the changes we planned to make, I mentioned that I really wanted the wallpaper in the powder room gone and each time I went in there the urge to start pulling it down was overwhelming.  I told him that I might not be able to restrain myself while he was gone.  He just grinned at me and told me that if I wanted to get started, I was welcome to.

He finally left on his trip and I behaved myself all week.  I pilfered a pillow and one of his t-shirts to sleep with while he was gone.  It helps me not miss him as much.  We had our play date at his house and had so much fun.  I went back the next day to clean up.  I did the last load of laundry he left in the hamper when he left.  Then I waited for him to come home to me.

I just hope his boss doesn’t want to see him again for awhile.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Making Progress | Hope Wears Heels

    Leave a Reply

