It’s Getting Hot Around Here

Treun and I are getting along so nicely.  There are times that he’ll do something that is so far outside of my realm of experience that I will just tilt my head and look at him rather quizzically.  I’m trying to make sense out of him and his actions.  He’ll ask me why I’m looking at him like I am and I’ll just tell him, “I don’t get it.  What you just did there.  It doesn’t make sense.”  It would’ve been something kind and caring and totally the opposite of what Bubba had done in the past.  Treun will just gather me in his strong arms and tell me that THIS is how someone is supposed to act toward the person they love.  Once again, I am left to assimilate the new information; process what previously was incomprehensible.  My life with Treun is a wealth of new experiences and being treated in a way I’ve never been treated before.

Treun is talking more and more about the future.  He is looking forward to retiring in about 12 years.  He is planning for it by building up his 401K.  He plans to have enough saved to live comfortably and to be able to travel the world.  He includes me in these plans.  When I wistfully mention to him that I want to go to Scotland and stay in a castle he simply says, “We can do that in about 12 years.”  Or he’ll ask me, “Have you ever thought about going out West to see Mt. Rushmore?  We can go out there when we retire.”  And it is never when “he” retires.  He always says, when “we” retire.

I’m going to retire someday.  This boggles my mind.  Just a few months ago I accepted the fact that I would never be able to retire because I would never be able to get caught up and save enough to retire.  How could I with Bubba always being behind in child support and me being responsible for the kids extras?  I know I’m going to be solely responsible for any college costs for the kids because Bubba has made it abundantly clear to the children that once they are 18, they are on their own.  Now here I am, thinking about being able to not only retire but also to travel the world!

Since I work so much, Arcadia and I don’t get to see each other nearly as much as we did before.  The kids and I were going over to Treun’s to hang out for the day so I invited Arcadia and the kids to join us.  The kids had a blast playing together and the adults had a good time chatting too!  Eventually the kids got hungry so we ordered pizza.

As we were sitting around eating, Arcadia’s oldest asked, “Miss Hope.  When you get married, can I be the flower girl?”  I’m pretty sure I got the deer-in-the-headlight look.  Oh my goodness, what is Treun going to think I’ve been talking to Arcadia about that her child is asking me about a wedding that is not being discussed yet.  I said, “Honey, I think it is a bit premature to be talking about that now.”  Treun looked me with this little grin on his face and said, “No.  I don’t think it is.”

WOAH!  What????  It’s not?  This is news to me!  Oh my goodness!  Holy cow!

It’s one thing to be talking about 12 years in the future in an abstract “someday…..” type way but it’s another thing entirely for him to say that it is a good time to be talking about a wedding.  Really?  Woah!

It’s getting hot around here.  The big “W” word is now being discussed.  Wedding. Marriage.  Being married to Treun.  Sharing our lives together.

God, please don’t let me get burned.

Leave a Reply

