Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas!

I’m taking the day off from my regular posting to talk about something very important.  I debated interrupting the flow of the story for this but I think it is important to put this out there.

Abusers tend to escalate during the holidays.  I’ve actually never done any research on this phenomenon and why it happens, I just know that it does happen.  The whys of it aren’t relevant right now, the part that you need to know is that if you are in an abusive relationship, you have to be more on guard during the holiday season.

The National Domestic Violence Hotline’s phone number is 1-800-799-7233.  If you visit their website, please be careful and always clear your internet history when you are done.  There are resources available to you if your abuser does escalate this holiday season.  You do not have to stay in an unsafe place.  You can get out and get help.

If you haven’t done so yet, please call your local domestic violence agency and get help making a safety plan.  Even if you aren’t planning to leave, it is always wise to have a safety plan in place.  You never know when you will need it and it is always better to have a plan in place in case you have to run.  Trust me, I didn’t have one in place and it made leaving Bubba so much harder.  I was NOT prepared.  I didn’t have anything ready for the night of The Incident.  I strongly encourage you to prepare.  You may never need it but if you do need it, having it in place is priceless.

Be safe, take care of yourself, and know that you are worthy of a life full of love and respect.  You do not deserve to be abused.

2 Comments

  1. Still working on sharing with my stepdaughter and daughter that they are worthy of respect. I hope one day they get it and demand no less. It took a while, but I “get it”. I know I don’t want any less or have to put up with any less. The only reason I’m still where I am is his health is not good, so things are different and I’m doing what’s required for the time being.

    • By continuing to put your needs and the fact that you are worthy of respect aside due to his health, you are teaching the exact opposite of what you think you are teaching them. You are in a hard situation but being in poor health does NOT excuse someone continuing to abuse you. It does not excuse you allowing yourself to be treated this way.

      The consequences of abusing someone is that you don’t get to make them take care of you anymore. Being sick alone is a natural result of hurting people around you. Please do not let his health dictate YOURS.

Leave a Reply

