Happy One Year Hope Wears Heels!

Happy One Year of Blogging to me!  Hope has been alive and kicking for an entire year and what a year it’s been.  Thank you to all of you who have read, commented, and supported me through this.  Thank you to my guest post authors for sharing your stories.  Thank you to all the survivors who have shared their lovely shoes on my Facebook page.  Thank you to Arcadia for her endless hours of editing, linking, and keeping me on the path.  Thank you to Endellion for well, everything; you are such a large part of my heart and I don’t know how I’d function in my life without you, my dear.

I look back over the past year and am simply amazed by how far I’ve come yet am daunted by how far I have still to go.

This journey has rarely been easy.  There have been few peaks and many valleys, most days feeling that it was all up hill.  I’ve fought for myself and my children.  I’ve fought to pay rent, pay bills, feed the kids, and get them the mental health care that they need.  I’ve stood up to Bubba countless times and refused to be his victim any longer.

Mostly, I’ve found healing here.  I’ve poured out my heart and soul in the hopes that I could not only heal my own wounds but also show other women that there is life – a good life – after abuse.  Yeah, my life is hard and struggle is my constant companion, but I am free now.  I do not live in abuse any longer.  I can take Bubba’s abusive emails and know that they hold no real poison.  They can’t hurt me; Bubba can’t hurt me.

I just heard Katy Perry’s new song Roar the other day.  I had no idea who was singing it so I got home and looked it up on YouTube.  That is where I was a couple of short years ago.  I didn’t rock the boat because I knew what a mess it would make, I sat quietly and agreed politely.  I was the perfect victim.  But now, “I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire.  Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me ROAR!!!!”

I roar!

I am Hope.

Happy One Year to me!

Leave a Reply

