The Wedding and The Other Woman

I am furious!  I haven’t been this angry in a long time.  I was so spitting mad that I could’ve gladly marched across the street and wrung a certain person’s neck and done it while smiling.

Andy, Sean’s son, came over!  It’s been so long since he’s been here to visit.  I asked how long he was staying and he said he’d spent the night at Sean’s girlfriend’s house the night before so he was just here for the night.  I asked him if he was comfortable over there and he kind of shrugged and said he likes her now, which is good since Sean moved in with her.  I just made a non-committal sound.  He said they are getting married.  I said, “Wow!  After only two months?”  He said, “Well, she said they’ve been together for 6 months.”  Before thinking, I blurted out, “Then what was he doing over here with me just three months ago?” Then, I’m pretty sure I scared Andy because he backed up and said, “I really don’t like the look in your eyes right now.”

I wish I could describe the feeling of rage that came over me.  This is the first time since Fluffy integrated that I’ve been this angry.  The rage I felt was all me.  I was in control of it.  I didn’t have to feed it to Fluffy.  I didn’t have to hold Fluffy back.  I was angry and I was in control of the emotion.  I looked at at Andy and said, “Do you like her enough to have your Dad marry her?  Because I have ammunition here that could blow the whole thing sky high if I chose to use it?”  He said, “What do you mean?”  I told him that I could walk over and say, “I hear congratulations are in order.  So, how long have you two lovebirds been together? And when she says, ‘Six months,’ I turn to your father and say, ‘So what were you doing in my bed three months ago?’ then turn, walk away, and listen for the explosion.”  (For the record, Andy knew that we had been snuggling in my bed because he was hanging out with Serenity when Sean came over before.  I wasn’t giving him any new information.)  He got a little grin on his face then said, “No.  She’s alright.  Her son and I go fishing together so it’s cool.”

The fact that Andy likes this woman is the only thing that held me back.  I wouldn’t hurt him for the world.

Then it hit me.

Sean had made me into The Other Woman!  For all of his talk about wanting a relationship with me, he was burning his candle at both ends – hedging his bets.  What I still don’t understand is why he didn’t take me up on my Friends With Benefits (FWB) offer if he was playing us both?  It doesn’t make sense to me but then again, nothing Sean ever did made sense to me.

Endellion had to talk me down from that one.  She said he didn’t make me into The Other Woman.  Sean doesn’t get to define who I am.  I had no idea this woman existed any more than she probably knew about me.  It is all on Sean.  I can’t be The Other Woman in this little scenario because I thought I was The Only Woman.  Sean’s actions do NOT define me.

I don’t know when the wedding will happen.  Andy said that Sean is talking to the preacher about possible dates.  All I can do now is sit back and watch the train wreck as it happens.  Whether they’ve been together for six months or two months, or on and off over the course of a lifetime, if he was in my bed three months ago and is rushing to marry her now, well, I don’t see any other outcome here than a train wreck.

It should prove to be interesting.

6 Comments

  1. I think the longer I live the less I’ll understand some men.

    • I gave up trying to understand the un-understandable. I figure that if I can’t understand him, his isn’t worth my time.

Trackbacks

  1. The Mood Persists | Hope Wears Heels
  2. I Understand Eeyore Now | Hope Wears Heels
  3. It Was Bound to Happen | Hope Wears Heels
  4. Sean Visits | Hope Wears Heels

Leave a Reply

