Where Did This Man Come From?

Steve is a nice guy.  A nice guy.  Seriously.  It’s a bit surreal.  It’s also quite terrifying because I’ve never encountered one of these beings before aside from the two who are married to Arcadia and Maria.  I thought they were anomalies.  Maybe I’ve just met my very own anomaly.

I told Steve about Shane’s ER trip.  He texted and said he wished he could be there to support me.  I told him what Shane had done and asked him if he was going to run now.  He said he wasn’t, unless I wanted him to.  I told him I didn’t want him to run and he said, “Besides, what kind of man would I be if I ran because your child has problems?”

Seriously, where did this man come from?  I simply don’t know.  He’s kind, he’s funny, he isn’t afraid of my child (so far).  He’s being patient.  We’ve been on three official dates and he’s come up to see me twice to give me a hug after work and he’s been fine that we haven’t kissed yet.

Who is this man?  I’m seriously dumb-founded by what I’m seeing.  I’m amazed by what I am experiencing.  I honestly don’t know what to make of him.  I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop.  I’m waiting for him to turn into the monster that I know men to be.  So far, I see no real signs of that happening but that doesn’t make me trust that it won’t happen.

He’s breaching my defenses.  I am falling for him and it simply terrifies me.

9 Comments

  1. I can understand your predicament, when not knowing “nice” guys for so long…it’s mighty hard to believe they actually exist and take a while to trust.

    • And how do we know when the “nice” guys are truly nice or when they are feeding us a line? It’s just scary to think about because most abuser’s hide it well in the beginning….

      • A fear of mine too. I almost think it’s one of those things only time will tell. It’s definitely complicated…I’ve gotten to the point I don’t know that I can truly trust my heart or even my intuition, because of the way some people are so good at hiding it. I just know I don’t want to live without love, so I have to be willing to take the risk and try.

Trackbacks

  1. Hugs | Hope Wears Heels
  2. Friday Night | Hope Wears Heels
  3. Stealing Hours | Hope Wears Heels
  4. Taking it To Another Level | Hope Wears Heels
  5. I Have a Past | Hope Wears Heels
  6. I Understand Eeyore Now | Hope Wears Heels

Leave a Reply

