The Date

Quentin and I decided to meet at a casual restaurant at 6:00 on Saturday evening.  I looked through my closet and had absolutely nothing to wear.  I asked Arcadia to go shopping with me to help me pick out a new top, but she ended up being stuck in a long meeting.  I asked Serenity to go to the mall with me.

I ended up finding a royal blue cardigan that looked really good on me.  Quentin had said blue was his favorite color so I was looking specifically for a blue shirt.  I just did not realize until I tried that cardigan on that I look really good in royal blue!  I love random happy accidents!  Since the cardigan was a little more than I was comfortable paying for a sweater, I decided to go to another store to look for a less expensive shirt to go under it.  I wanted something white to really set of the color of the cardigan.  I found one, purchased it, then went back to the original store to look for a new bra.

The same woman was working who helped me find a new bra last weekend.  She took one look at the shirt I’d bought and said, “Absolutely not!  That looks like a man’s shirt.  You need something with a lower neckline.”  She went out of the dressing room and returned a few minutes later with a tight, white cami.  I tried it on and, although it put me way outside of my comfort zone, I did like the way it looked.  I ended up not buying a new bra because I already own my new nude one and didn’t want another nude one.  I paid for my cami and cardigan and headed home.

Quentin and I had texted on and off all day.  At about 4:00 he texted and asked if I wanted to meet at 5:00 instead of 6:00.  An hour to get ready?  Sure, I could do that.  These are the times that I’m thankful I’m low maintenance!

I got ready then had time to Skype with Endellion to get her approval.  She made me put on lipstick!  She gave me her seal of approval, I got Serenity to take a picture of me to share with my friends, and I was ready to leave.  At that point, I was feeling very excited and quite a bit nervous.  What I thought was very strange was that I wasn’t scared at all.

As I was parking, Quentin texted to tell me he was there.  I asked if he was inside and I told him I was walking in.  He walked out to meet me.  He is tall but he didn’t feel imposingly so.  He had a wind-breaker on so I couldn’t get a real accurate idea of how he’s built.  I could tell he was average in his build but I didn’t get a real picture of how he’s shaped.

We sat down and ordered our food.  He is very easy to talk to.  Sadly, the restaurant is too efficient and we were done in about 45 minutes.  He asked if I had to get home or if I wanted to do something else.  I told him that I didn’t need to get home.  Neither of had a clue what to do so I texted Arcadia for ideas.  She tried to give me directions to a local coffee house but we ended up not being able to find it.  Since he’d asked if I was following him or he was following me (didn’t even suggest us riding together!) he called and asked if I wanted to go walking along the river.  It never occurred to me until we were almost there that it wasn’t the most public place in the world.  Duh!

As we walked there were people at various places along the trail, jogging or walking.  We were never alone for long and even if we were, we were walking along the river so anyone could’ve seen us at any moment.  I felt safe to walk with him.  We ended up walking on the opposite side of the river since we’d crossed a bridge early in our walk.  He suggested turning around at the next light pole and when we did I stopped, my breath taken away completely by the most gorgeous sunset ever.  He simply said, “I had it all planned out.”  He really does have a good sense of humor.

We ended up crossing a different bridge and ended up in a totally different place than we wanted to be.  Neither of us had been there before and it was absolutely deserted.  I became hyper aware of where he was and I was ready to bolt or scream if need be.  He just kept walking and chatting.  He was a complete gentlemen.

When we got back to our cars, he walked me to my car and asked if I was interested in getting together again.  I told him I was.  He said, “Is tomorrow too soon?” He had a little grin on his face when he said it.  I told him that I was rather busy but that I could try to sneak away.  Then he said, “A handshake, right?”  I said, “Yes.”  We shook hands, I got in my car and left.  He followed me out then turned into a gas station so I wasn’t worried about him following me home.

By the time I got home, I decided that seeing him the next day might be a bit too much so I texted him and told him that Serenity reminded me that I was busier than I thought I was going to be but that I’d like to go to lunch on Saturday.  I didn’t want him to think I was just blowing him off.

It was a nice first date and I’m looking forward to getting to know Quentin better.

Leave a Reply

