Dreams of a New Car

I’m currently driving a minivan that is well over a decade old.  To say it is falling apart is rather an understatement.  The back doors are finicky and don’t like to work all the time.  I have to hit the front button control to let Shane out because his handle no longer works.  The one door lock only works manually now, so every time we get out of the car, whoever is sitting in that seat has to remember to push the lock down or I can’t lock all the doors.  The air conditioner died in the middle of last summer.  The engine makes a weird noise that has random strangers commenting about and telling me I need to get it looked at. I’ve had it looked at by three different mechanics who say that it is just the way it is and there is no harm in it and that my engine will *not* explode no matter how much I think it sounds like it is going to.

I can’t afford a new car so if something major happens to my van, I’ll just have to get it repaired.  I found a mechanic who said he could repair the a/c for $400-600.  I’ve decided to not have a/c yet.  Maybe by the time summer hits, I’ll change my mind, bite the bullet, and have it done.  It gets nasty hot here so I can’t imagine not having it but it pains me to have to pay that much money to have my a/c fixed.  It seems like a luxury at this point.

I am starting to dream of what type of car I’m going to buy when I can afford to get one.  I want something fuel efficient and for the first time in my life, I’m considering a hybrid.  No longer do I need a minivan to cart small children and their myriad childhood items around town.  No longer do I need a minivan to cart around a group of my kids’ friends around town.  I can get something small, inexpensive, and easy to maintain.  Sure, I won’t be getting this new car for a few years because I’m going to drive my minivan into the dirt, but I can dream.

I’m just starting to research new cars because it will take me a long time to decide on what I want.  Just scanning the top rated hybrids, I found a Prius for under $20,000.  Right now that price could just as well be $1 million because I simply can’t afford it, but in the coming years as I reduce my debt and save some money, I may be able to.  Plus, I’m not ruling out buying a previously owned vehicle, which would reduce the price significantly.

I think another reason I’m eager to get rid of my minivan is because I’m not *that* mom anymore.  I’m not the stay-at-home mom who needs a minivan to do all the things that stay-at-home moms do for their kids.  I don’t identify with the “soccer mom” image anymore.  Each time I get in my car, it is like a mini slap-in-the-face because that isn’t my life anymore.  It just hurts to drive a minivan now that I’m a full-time working mom.

For now, it’s just nice to be able to dream about researching cars, car shopping, and maybe turning in my minivan for something that is more suited to my new life.

2 Comments

  1. I’ll hope one day you’re able to get another car and for now I’ll hope your mini-van hangs in there with minimal trouble. We have two vehicles both fluttering on band-aid wings…lol…one has almost 250,000 miles on it and the other almost 200,000.

Leave a Reply

